The Mars 2020 mission is scheduled to launch its Perseverance rover toward the Red Planet on Thursday, July 30. The launch window will open from 7:50 a.m. EDT on July 30 and close on Aug. 15, 2020. 

The spacecraft will launch on a Atlas V-541 rocket from Launch Complex 41 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida. If all goes according to plan, the Perseverance rover will land on Mars on Feb. 18, 2021, at around 3 p.m. EST (12 p.m. PST, or 8 p.m. UTC). 

A United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket with NASA’s Mars 2020 Perseverance rover onboard is seen illuminated by spotlights on the launch pad at Space Launch Complex 41, Tuesday, July 28, 2020, at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida.

Here’s a rough schedule of what to expect in the webcast:

Wednesday, July 29 (9 a.m. PDT/12 p.m. EDT)

—Administrator Briefing to discuss the upcoming launch
NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine
NASA Deputy Administrator Jim Morhard
Kennedy Center Director Bob Cabana
NASA astronaut Zena Cardman

Thursday, July 30 (4 a.m. PDT/7 a.m. EDT)

—Live Launch Coverage Begins
Mission Team Members

July 30 (8:30 a.m. PDT/11:30 a.m. EDT)

—Post-launch News Conference

Sourse: www.livescience.com

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here